top of page

Head Coach Kevin Houle Named a Finalist for CCM/AHCA Division III Coach of the Year Award

PLATTSBURGH, N.Y. – Sixteenth-year Plattsburgh State head women's ice hockey coach Kevin Houle has been named a finalist for the 2018-19 CCM/American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year Award, as announced Tuesday by the AHCA. Houle is a six-time winner of the award, having previously earned the honor in 2006, 2007, 2008, 2013, 2014 and 2016. To be considered a finalist, one must either be named Coach of the Year at the conference level or advance to the national championship semifinals. The winner will be announced Thursday evening during the student-athlete banquet at the NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship at the University of St. Thomas. Houle has led the Cardinals to their eighth straight NCAA Division III Tournament semifinal appearance in 2018-19, as Plattsburgh State enters the national championship weekend with a 27-2-0 overall record. The Cardinals are also riding a 16-game winning streak. Plattsburgh State won its second Northeast Women's Hockey League (NEWHL) championship in the two-year history of the league this season, winning both its games in the NEWHL Tournament after going a perfect 16-0-0 in conference play. Houle also guided the Cardinals to a 16-0-0 record in home games this year. Plattsburgh State continues its quest for a seventh national championship on Friday, March 15, as it takes on Adrian College in the semifinal round of the NCAA Division III Tournament. The opening puck drop is set for 3 p.m. (CT)/4 p.m. (ET) at the University of St. Thomas' St. Thomas Academy rink in Mendota Heights, Minn.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page