2018 FIL WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP DAY SEVEN - UALBANY


Iroquois Nationals 14, Puerto Rico 7

Trailing 3-0 after the first quarter, the Iroquois Nationals outscored its opponent 14-4 the rest of the way to defeat Puerto Rico and advance to the semifinal round. Puerto Rico suffers its first loss of the tournament.

Four UAlbany personnel had goals for the Iroquois: Miles Thompson ’14 had two goals and an assist, Ty Thompson ’14 had two goals, Lyle Thompson ’14 had a goal and two assists while Tehoka Nanticokescored a goal.

For Puerto Rico, Kevin McNally ’16 had another hat trick, adding an assist for four points. Will Ramosnotched a goal, while Steve Ramirez had an assist.

The Iroquois Nationals will rematch against Canada for the semifinal round tomorrow at 11 a.m. ET/6 p.m. IDT. The victor of that game plays the winner of USA-Australia for the FIL championship on Saturday.

Puerto Rico gets another shot at a Blue Division team, playing England tomorrow at 2:45 p.m. ET/9:45 p.m. IDT.

Australia 9, Israel 6

An early three-goal lead for Israel did not hold as Australia came back to win 9-6 over the host nation in the quarterfinal round. Israel gets its first defeat in the tournament. Eric Cantor ’15 had a pair of loose balls for Israel.

Cantor, Eric Wolf ’07 and Israel will challenge the winner of Japan-Scotland tomorrow at 11:45 a.m. ET/6:45 p.m. IDT.

Jamaica 12, Switzerland 6

Jamaica takes its fifth straight game, using a pair of 5-0 quarters to win 12-6 over Switzerland. Niyan Oladipo ’01 helped the Jamaica defense to another strong performance.

Jamaica takes its winning streak into tomorrow to take on Finland at 4:45 a.m. ET/11:45 a.m. IDT.

Wales 10, Latvia 9

Latvia’s comeback came up short on Wednesday, as a Wales goal in the final minute gave Latvia a 10-9 defeat. Eli Lasda ’17 scored twice, including a pivotal goal late in the third quarter, while Riley Lasda ’15 had a loose ball.

Next up for Latvia in Greece tomorrow at 2:15 p.m. ET/9:15 p.m. IDT.

Thursday, July 19th games involving UAlbany personnel:

--4:45 a.m. ET/11:15 a.m. IDT: Jamaica vs. Finland

--11 a.m. ET/6 p.m. IDT: Iroquois Nationals vs. Canada

--11:45 a.m. ET/6:45 p.m. IDT: Israel vs. Japan/Scotland

--2:15 p.m. ET/9:15 p.m. IDT: Latvia vs. Greece

--2:45 p.m. ET/9:45 p.m. IDT: Puerto Rico vs. England

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

© 2017- 2021College Sports NY - All Rights Reserved