top of page

Peart Included 2018 Wuerffel Watch List

FORT WALTON BEACH, Fla. – Redshirt junior offensive lineman Matt Peart was announced to the 2018 Wuerffel Trophy Watch List with 105 other players from college football's Football Bowl Subdivision. The Wuerffel Trophy, known as "College Football's Premier Award for Community Service," is presented annually at the All Sports Association's Awards Banquet in Fort Walton Beach. Named after 1996 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback Danny Wuerffel from the University of Florida, the Wuerffel Trophy is awarded to the FBS player that best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement. Peart has started all 12 games the past two seasons for the Huskies and has been a part of football team's leadership council the past two seasons. A current list of nominees can be found at beginning on August 1. Semifinalists for the award will be announced on November 1 and finalists will be announced on November 19. The formal announcement of the 2018 recipient will be made at the National Football Foundation's press conference in New York City on December 4. The presentation of the 2018 Wuerffel Trophy will occur at the 50th All Sports Association Awards Banquet on February 15, 2019 in Fort Walton Beach. Past Winners of the Wuerffel Award 2017: Courtney Love, University of Kentucky 2016: Trevor Knight, Texas A&M University 2015: Ty Darlington, University of Oklahoma 2014: Deterrian Shackelford, University of Mississippi 2013: Gabe Ikard, University of Oklahoma 2012: Matt Barkley, University of Southern California 2011: Barrett Jones, University of Alabama 2010: Sam Acho, University of Texas 2009: Tim Hiller, Western Michigan University 2008: Tim Tebow, University of Florida 2007: Paul Smith, University of Tulsa 2006: Joel Penton, Ohio State University 2005: Rudy Niswanger, Louisiana State University

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page