Marist Monday: 2008 Water Polo

POUGHKEEPSIE, New York – The 2008 Marist water polo team consisted of many of the greatest players in school history that still hold records to this very day. With a record of 27-7, the squad went undefeated in the MAAC and won their first of three straight conference championships and set a record for wins in a season. The Red Foxes went on to earn victories over NCAA tournament opponents in the following two years as well. Performance Highlights

  • Senior driver Maggie Hatcher was named the 2008 MAAC Co-Defensive Player of the Year by leading the team with 72 steals during the regular season. She was a key contributor to Marist's defense which gave up a mere 7.53 goals per game. Hatcher also led the team in goals with 57.

  • Senior goalie Elizabeth Davis was named to the All-MAAC First Team for the second straight season with 273 saves and a save percentage of .570. This season was the culmination of Davis' stellar career as the all-time saves leader at Marist (1,067).