top of page

Sailing hosts David Lee Arnoff Trophy

he Hobart and William Smith Colleges sailing team will host the fifth annual David Lee Arnoff Regatta on Seneca Lake this weekend, Oct. 13-14. The Colleges will also be at the Captain Hurst Bowl in Hanover, N.H. William Smith sailors will be in Providence, R.I., for the inaugural ICSA Women's Fall Championship Showcase. The home regatta is named after David Lee Arnoff '82, a loyal Hobart alum and passionate sailor who passed away unexpectedly in 2012. The event was renamed in David's honor in 2014 to celebrate his love of sailing and the Colleges. HWS has won three of the four Arnoff Trophies. Last year, The Colleges won the regatta by 37 points. Hector Guzman and Maya Weber won A Division, finishing the weekend with 43 points. They were in the top 10 in all 13 races, including five first place finishes. Charlie Miller and Lindsey Kloc won B Division with 29 points, 28 ahead of runner-up Navy. They were in the top three in all but one race, winning five times. The Herons will be at Brown University for the inaugural ICSA Women's Fall Championship Showcase, which replaced the Atlantic Coast Women's Championship on the schedule. William Smith qualified for the championship showcase with a first place finish at the Women's Showcase Showdown in St. Mary's City, Md. The Herons finished the weekend with 56 points, 26 ahead of second place Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Bailey Carter, Sarah Smithand Kate Homet won A Division by 30 points. They were in the top five in all nine races, posting five victories. Kate Cox and Cailin Gensler were third in B Division with 39 points. They won three races. The Colleges will also be at the Captain Hurst Bowl. HWS was 10th at last year's regatta. Miller and Kloc won A Division at the regatta with 43 points. They won the third and eighth race

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page