top of page

Hobart wins 3rd Liberty League Championship

TROY, N.Y. — The Hobart College soccer team defeated Clarkson 2-1 to capture the 2019 Liberty League Tournament title today on ECAV Field. It's the third time the Statesmen have won the tournament championship. Hobart earns the league's automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. The last time the Statesmen made an appearance in the NCAA Tournament was in 2017. Hobart is now 14-4-2. The Statesmen took a 2-1 lead in the 76th minute when junior Pete Critchlow served a penalty corner into the six. Clarkson mistakenly headed the ball into the goal, and gave Hobart the lead. In the 63rd minute, Hobart tied the game 1-1 when senior Nick Wigglesworth launched the ball from the 50-yard line. Senior Kyle Patrick one touched a bouncing ball and fired it into the back of the net for his sixth career goal. Patrick earned the Liberty League Tournament's Most Outstanding Player award for scoring twice on the weekend.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page