top of page

Shoffner Named Offensive Player of the Year, 16 Mustangs Named to NEFC All-Conference Team

NEW ROCHELLE, N.Y., November 27, 2019 – For the second year in a row, the quarterback of the Monroe College football team has been named the Northeast Football Conference (NEFC) Offensive Player of the Year. Dominique Shoffner takes home the prestigious award for the 2019 season, headlining a list of 16 Mustangs selected to the 2019 NEFC All-Conference Team, as announced by the NEFC on Wednesday. Shoffner follows up 2018 NEFC Offensive Player of the Year Jalen Brown, who won the award after a record-setting performance throughout the 2018 campaign that helped lead the Mustangs to their first-ever bowl game. Shoffner has helped the Mustangs build off last year's historic season, leading the Mustangs to their second straight bowl game appearance with the upcoming Salt City Bowl in Hutchinson, Kan. Shoffner has already set a number of records for the Mustangs and has put himself high up on the leaderboards in many categories for the NEFC. According to the NEFC, here is where Shoffner ranks in a number of NEFC single-season categories:

  1. 269.3 yards in total offense per game;

  2. total offense yards, 2,693;

  3. 2,035 passing yards and 26 passing touchdowns;

  4. 14 rushing touchdowns, 331 total offense plays and 152 completions;

  5. pass efficiency rating, 172.8, and pass attempts, 245;

  6. 62.0% completion rate and 14 touchdowns;

  7. 84 points.

Shoffner tops the Monroe College single-season record boards in passing touchdowns (26), passing yards (2,305), pass completions (152), pass attempts (245), completion percentage (62.0), pass efficiency rating (172.8), average yards per pass (9.4), passing yards per game (230.5) and even holds the single-season rushing touchdown record with 14 this year. Shoffner's incredible season includes seven games with four or more total touchdowns, including an outrageous seven-touchdown performance in the regular-season finale at Hocking College. As the Offensive Player of the Year, Shoffner leads the First-Team Offense as its quarterback. Monroe wide receivers Jevin Frett and Lucas Nunez join Shoffner on the First-Team Offense, as well as offensive lineman Cedrice Paillant. Frett and Nunez have also had historic seasons for Monroe, as both have caught eight touchdowns this season, tying the program's record. Frett has also blown the previous receiving-yards record out of the water with 720 yards so far this season, surpassing the previous record of 536. Frett's 33 receptions are two shy of the program record, and he also set the program record for longest reception with a 93-yard touchdown catch. Nunez adds 502 yards (No. 3 in single-season rankings) and 25 receptions (No. 6 in single-season rankings). Paillant is the Mustangs' top offensive lineman, and has been one of the most highly recruited student-athletes on the team this season. The First-Team Defense also includes four impressive Mustangs. Cornerback Emmanuel Appiah-Takyi set a new program single-season record with an NJCAA-leading eight interceptions this season. He has also been credited with 16 passes defended, which is another new program record. Cornerback Charles Amankwaa joins Appiah-Takyi on the First Team, as the two have made for dangerous duo against opposing quarterbacks and receivers. Amankwaa's 12 passes defended are the second most in a single season, while his four interceptions are sixth most. Linebacker Tim Donnahue also makes the First Team after leading the Mustangs in tackles in 2019. The sophomore has 51 total tackles on the season, as well as a sack and six tackles for loss. Donnahue has also registered an interception, a forced fumble and a fumble recovery. Defensive lineman Devin Love has been a force in the trenches this year. He is tied for second on the team with 35 tackles, including seven for loss and 3.5 sacks. Love has also forced a fumble and recovered one. Another eight Mustangs earned their spot on the NEFC Second Team this season. The Second-Team Offense includes running back Clayton Scott, wide receiver Halim Dixon-King and offensive lineman Patrick Bien-Aime. Scott leads the team with 525 rushing yards and is averaging 6.1 yards per carry this season. His 13 rushing touchdowns are the second most in a single season in Monroe history, and is tied for sixth most in the NJCAA, despite Scott missing two games in 2019. He adds another 10 receptions for 84 yards. Dixon-King is third on the team this season with 409 receiving yards and six touchdown catches, and stands second with 26 receptions. He joins Frett and Nunez on the record boards, rankings seventh in single-season receiving yards, tied for fifth in receptions and fourth in touchdown receptions. Bien-Aime, like Paillant, has been a consistent starter on the offensive line for the Mustangs this season. Another four Mustangs were selected to the Second-Team Defense, including defensive tackle Nadir Pineda, defensive end Jahron Gayle, linebacker Zharell Walker and safety Jeremiah Bryant. Pineda has been one of the Mustangs' best run stoppers this year, registering eight tackles for loss out of his 15 tackles on the year. He also has 2.5 sacks. Gayle leads the Mustangs with five sacks on the season, as well as 10.5 tackles for loss. Walker is tied with Love for the second most tackles on the team with 35. He has registered eight tackles for loss and a pair of sacks this season. Walker is also credited with a pass breakup, a fumble recovery and a forced fumble, including a return touchdown on his fumble recovery. Bryant has had a great season in the defensive backfield for the Mustangs, picking up an interception, four pass breakups, 31 total tackles and a pair of tackles for loss. Monroe's freshman kicker Idrissa Nikiema was named to the Second-Team Special Teams. He has done everything that was asked of him on special teams this year, making all seven of his field goals this season with a long of 44 yards. Nikiema has made 59-of-61 extra points, with his only two misses having been blocked. He also averaged 56.1 yards on 25 kickoffs with four touchbacks. The Mustangs earned an invitation to their second straight bowl game this year, and will play in the Salt City Bowl in Hutchinson, Kan. on Saturday, Dec. 7. Monroe will take on No. 3 Hutchinson Community College in the first-ever matchup between the Mustangs and Blue Dragons. Kickoff is scheduled for 2 p.m. E

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page