top of page

Wagner College grid star Titus Leo named to Buck Buchanan Award Watch List

Wagner College senior linebacker Titus Leo is part of the watch list for the Stats Perform FCS Buck Buchanan Award, which is presented annually to the national defensive player of the year in college football’s Division I subdivision (FCS).

The reigning Northeast Conference (NEC) Player of the Year and Preseason All-NEC selection was a finalist for the award following the 2021 spring season and starts the fall on the prestigious watch list, which features 35 defenders from college football’s Division I subdivision.

Leo joins CCSU’s Tre Jones as the only NEC players on the list and one of just 14 linebackers to receive the recognition, as he continues to follow the footsteps of Super Bowl LV champion and former Seahawk All-American Cam Gill, who started the 2019 season on the Buck Buchanan Award Watch List. The Buck Buchanan, named for the legendary defensive lineman, enters its 27th season and is presented to the national defensive player of the year in college football’s Division I subdivision. The Buchanan has watched past winners such as Dexter Coakley, Rashean Mathis, Jared Allen, Arthur Moats and Kyle Emanuel move on to NFL careers. A national media panel will select the winner after the regular season. Despite the shortened spring season, Leo wreaked havoc in opposing backfields, combining for 15 total tackles and two sacks in two games. In the Seahawks’ spring opener against Duquesne, the hard-hitting Brooklyn native, who attended Sheepshead Bay HS, accumulated two sacks and two forced fumbles in the first half. One week later at Bryant, Leo led Wagner with nine tackles, including two tackles for loss, while helping limit all-NEC tailback Daniel Adeboboye to his lowest rushing output this season. Leo also earned a spot on the All-NEC First Team. More players can join the watch list during the regular season, and a national media panel will select the winner following it. Dexter Coakley won the inaugural Buchanan in 1995 and repeated a year later, but there hasn’t been a two-time recipient since, although other past winners such as Rashean Mathis, Jared Allen and Arthur Moats joined Coakley with excellent NFL careers. Also this season, Stats Perform will present the Walter Payton Award (FCS offensive player of the year), Jerry Rice Award (FCS freshman player of the year), Eddie Robinson Award (FCS coach of the year) and Doris Robinson Scholar-Athlete of the Year.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page